Submenu institute
Submenu teaching
Submenu research...already chosen
Submenu publications
Submenu links





Englische Version Deutsche Version
 

The Kiel Corpus



General Informations

The Kiel Corpus is a growing collection of read and spontaneous German which has been collected and labelled segmentally at the ipds since 1990. At present the Kiel Corpus available on CD-ROM comprises over four hours of labelled read speech on The Kiel Corpus of Read Speech Vol. I as well as four hours of labelled spontaneous speech on The Kiel Corpus of Spontaneous Speech Vol. I, Vol. II and Vol. III.


Download a free sample!

This is a zipped tar-file containing 10 signal files from the Berlin sentence corpus on The Kiel Corpus of Read Speech Vol. I as well as five turns from The Kiel Corpus of Spontaneous Speech Vol. II. The files are in ESPS/waves+ format or MS RIFF WAVE format. The zip files are
about 2 MB in size.



Segmentation and labelling

Labelling of the Kiel Corpus begins with a canonical phonemic transcription of the utterance. A list of labels is created from the transcription. Each element of prefixed with one of the following:

## for word-initial labels
$ for word-internal labels
$# for word-internal, compound-initial labels
# for word-external labels, i.e. pauses, breathing, sentence punctuation.

The labels are aligned temporally with the signal. Each label is aligned with the beginning of that portion of the signal it is considered to be chiefly responsible for. Where necessary the labels are modified. Here are some examples of possible modifications:

Before After
##b ##%b the delimitation of a portion of signal is uncertain, in this case the closure for plosive could not be ascertained.
$t $t- phonetic correlates of the phonological element are absent. Commonly used to show the absence of any stop or plosive element following fricatives or to show the absence of a vocalic portion in /@n/ or /@l/ sequences.
$n $n-m signal portion are more accurately represented with another label from the inventory. Most commonly used to represent
assimilation.
$-p a label from the inventory is inserted to label a signal portion not necessarily foreseen in the canonical transcription. Often used to indicate the presence of epenthetic stops.

A number of other phonetic features are also annotated using the "insertion" hyphen:

$-~ indicates presence of nasality when a nasal is no longer temporally delimitable
$-q indicates the presence junctural creak or creaky voice. The symbol q is also used to 'replace' plosive symbols (e.g. $t-q, $p-q) to show glottalized correlates often found adjacent to nasals and laterals.
$-h indicates plosive release phase (and aspiration).
$-MA is used to signal the presence of the correlates of a label which has been marked as absent, e.g. $i:- in a realization of vielleicht, in which phonetic correlates of the first vowel are cotemporal with the labiodental friction and part of the lateral, but in which no temporally discrete vocalic portion is present.

The Kiel Corpus of Read Speech Vol. I
The Kiel Corpus of Spontaneous Speech Vol. I
The Kiel Corpus of Spontaneous Speech Vol. II
The Kiel Corpus of Spontaneous Speech Vol. III

Top

Menüpunkt Institut
Menüpunkt Lehre
Menüpunkt Forschung
Menüpunkt Publikationen
Menüpunkt Links





Englische Version Deutsche Version
 

Das Kiel Corpus



Allgemein

Das Kiel Corpus ist eine wachsende gesprochene Sprachdatensammlung der deutschen Lese- und Spontansprache, welche seit 1990 am ipds aufgezeichnet und segmentell etikettiert wird. Derzeit umfassen die CD-ROMs des Kiel Corpus mehr als vier Stunden etikettierter Lesesprache auf The Kiel Corpus of Read Speech Vol. I sowie knapp vier Stunden etikettierter Spontansprache auf The Kiel Corpus of Spontaneous Speech Vol. I, Vol. II und Vol. III.


Laden Sie Beispielsignale herunter!
10 Signaldateien der Berliner Sätze aus The Kiel Corpus of Read Speech Vol. I sowie fünf Durchgänge aus The Kiel Corpus of Spontaneous Speech Vol. II stehen in Form einer gezippten tar-Datei zur Verfügung. Diese Dateien sind im ESPS/waves+- oder MS RIFF WAVE-Format und umfassen jeweils ungefähr 2 MB Speicherplatz.


Segmentierung und Etikettierung

Das Setzen der Label geht aus von einer kanonischen phonemischen Transkription einer Äußerung. Eine Labelliste wird aus der Transkription erzeugt. Jedes Element erhält ein Präfix der folgenden:

## für wortinitiale Labels
$ für wortinterne Labels
$# für wortinterne, Kompositums-initiale Labels
# für wortexterne Labels, z.B. Pausen, Atmen, Interpunktionszeichen.

Die Etiketten sind zeitlich mit dem Signal synchronisiert. Jedes Label markiert den Beginn des Signalabschnitts, der dafür als hauptverantwortlich ausgemacht wurde. Wo es erforderlich war, wurden die Labels angepaßt. Im folgenden finden sie einige Beispiele möglicher Modifikationen:

Vorher Nachher
##b ##%b Die Abgrenzung eines Signalabschnitts ist unsicher, in diesem Falle konnte der Verschluß für den Plosiv nicht genau lokalisiert werden.
$t $t- Phonetische Korrelate einer phonologischen Einheit fehlen. Häufig benutzt, um das Fehlen eines Verschlußes / plosiven Elements nach Frikativen oder eines vokalischen Abschnitts in /@n/- oder /@l/-Sequenzen anzuzeigen.
$n $n-m Ein Signalabschnitt wird angemessener durch ein anderes Label aus dem Inventar repräsentiert. Überwiegend eingesetzt, um Assimilationen zu kennzeichnen.
$-p Ein Label aus dem Inventar wird eingefügt, um einen nicht notwendigerweise in der kanonischen Transkription vorhersehbaren Signalabschnitt zu etikettieren. Oft benutzt, um das Vorhandensein epenthetischer Verschlüsse anzuzeigen.

Eine Vielzahl weiterer phonetischer Merkmale wird ebenfalls über den "Einfüge"-Bindestrich:


$-~ zeigt das Vorhandensein von Nasalität an, wenn ein Nasal nicht mehr zeitlich abgrenzbar ist
$-q zeigt das Vorhandensein von junkturellem Knarren oder Knarrstimme an. Das Symbol q wird außerdem benutzt, um Plosivsymbole zu ersetzen (so z.B. $t-q, $p-q), wenn glottalisierte Korrelate auftreten, wie sie häufig in der Umgebung von Nasalen und Lateralen zu finden sind.
$-h zeigt den Beginn der Plosivlösungsphase (und Aspiration) an.
$-MA wird benutzt, um das Vorhandensein des Korrelates eines getilgten Labels zu signalisieren, z.B. $i:- in einer Realisierung von vielleicht, in der phonetische Korrelate des ersten Vokals gleichzeitig mit der labiodentalen Friktion und Anteilen des Laterals auftreten, aber kein zeitlich diskreter Vokalabschnitt vorhanden ist.

The Kiel Corpus of Read Speech Vol. I
The Kiel Corpus of Spontaneous Speech Vol. I
The Kiel Corpus of Spontaneous Speech Vol. II
The Kiel Corpus of Spontaneous Speech Vol. III

nach oben