Submenu institute...already chosen
Submenu teaching
Submenu Research
Submenu publications
Submenu links





English Version Deutsche Version
 

Hardware, software and facilities for research and education


Library

Studio

Speech physiological laboratory

Computer network


Library

In the institute's library, there are, among other things, the most important scientific journals as well as the working papers from other phonetic institutes. The sound and video archive containing some recordings of historical significance is available for research and teaching purposes.

Studio

The institute has a recording studio with two sound-treated rooms, one of which is also used as a class room.

photo of directing room with the recording cabin in the background
The speech signal is edited after recording
In the directing room, speech recordings of high quality are worked on digitally.


Speech physiological laboratory

In the speech physiological laboratory, there is an electrically shielded cabin for recording articulatory and physiological signals. This is done using a number of special instruments such as the pneumotachograph (air flows through mouth and nose); laryngograph and photoglottograph (vibration of vocal folds); velograph (movements of the velum); electromyograph (action-potentials of muscles); dynamic palatograph (tongue-palate-contacts).

Electrical shielded cabin
Rooms for teaching and research
The photos show the electrical shielded cabin (left) and the PC-stations in one of the teaching rooms (right).


Computer network

For teaching as well as for research the institute has, in specially equipped rooms, a network of PCs operating under Linux and Silicon Graphics workstations, both running speech processing software such as the institute's own xassp, the Emu Speech Database System and ESPS/xwaves for processing and analysing many types of articulatory, physiological and acoustic signals.

Some computers at IPDS are also equipped with the INFOVOX-speech synthesis cards of the Swedish firm Telia Promotor, a system allowing written texts to be translated automatically into speech signals. Extensive rule modules for German (grapheme-phoneme-conversion, regulation of speech melody) have been drawn up at IPDS. They are currently being extended for practical application, as well as for use as a basic research instrument in German phonetics.



Top

Menpunkt Institut...bereits gewählt
Menpunkt Lehre
Menpunkt Forschung
Menpunkt Publikationen
Menpunkt Links





Englische Version Deutsche Version
 

Technische und räumliche Ausstattung


Bibliothek

Studio

Sprachphysiologisches Labor

Rechnernetz


Bibliothek

In der Bibliothek des Instituts finden sich u.a. die wichtigsten Fachzeitschriften sowie Arbeits- und Forschungsberichte von phonetischen Einrichtungen aus aller Welt. Sprachaufnahmen in Wort und Bild - z.T. von historischer Bedeutung - werden in einem Archiv gesammelt und stehen für Unterrichts- und Forschungszwecke zur Verfügung.

Studio

Zwei akustisch behandelte Räume, das Aufnahmestudio und die Aufnahmekabine, bilden mit dem Regieraum den Studiobereich zur Aufnahme und Wiedergabe von akustischen Signalen mit hoher Qualität. Das Aufnahmestudio dient auch als Unterrichtsraum.

Regie mit Aufnahmekabine im Hintergrund
Nachbearbeitung und Besprechung einer fertigen Aufnahmereihe
Im Regieraum werden hochwertige Sprachaufnahmen digital bearbeitet.


Sprachphysiologisches Labor

Das sprachphysiologische Labor hat eine elektrisch abgeschirmte Meßkabine zur möglichst störungsfreien Erfassung von artikulatorischen und physiologischen Meßsignalen. Sie erfolgt über eine Reihe spezieller Meßwertaufnehmer wie z.B. Pneumotachograph (Luftströmung durch Mund und Nase); Laryngograph und Photoglottograph (Stimmbandschwingungen); Velograph (Bewegungen des Gaumensegels); Elektromyograph (Aktionspotentiale der Muskeln); dynamischer Palatograph (Zungen-Gaumen-Kontakte).

Elektrisch abgeschirmte Meßkabine
Vernetzte Lehr- und Übungsräume
Meßkabine im Sprachphysiologischen Labor (links) und vernetzte Lehr- und Übungsräume (rechts).


Rechnernetz

Das Institut verfügt über ein Netz von Linux-PCs und Silicon Graphics Arbeitsplatzrechnern, die in Lehre und Forschung in speziell dafür eingerichteten Räumen zur Verarbeitung akustischer Sprachsignale und artikulatorischer sowie physiologischer Meßsignale eingesetzt werden. Auf ihnen wird die speziell entwickelte institutseigene Sprachverarbeitungssoftware xassp bereitgehalten, darüber hinaus aber auch ESPS/xwaves und Emu.

Einige Computer des IPDS sind zusätzlich mit INFOVOX-Sprachsynthesekarten der schwedischen Firma Telia Promotor ausgerüstet. Damit steht ein System zur automatischen Umsetzung orthographischer Texte in Sprachschall (`text-to-speech') zur Verfügung. Dafür sind am IPDS umfangreiche Regelmodule für das Deutsche (Graphem-Phonem-Konversion, Steuerung der Satzmelodie etc.) erstellt worden. Sie werden zum einen für praktische Anwendungen laufend erweitert und zum anderen als Instrumentarium für die Grundlagenforschung zur Phonetik des Deutschen eingesetzt.


nach oben